Access Keys:

Ballyclare Primary School


7th Mar 2019




Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Thír Eoghain held the last of the 9 scheduled heats of the annual 5-a-side Girls’ Indoor Gaelic Football for primary schools today in Omagh's excellent Station Centre Centre. A total of 8 local schools competed for the honour of winning this heat and, with it, a coveted place in the Tyrone County Final. The format of the day’s play saw the teams drawn into two sections. As in the previous heats, an extremely high level of skill and sporting behaviour was exhibited from all involved.

Section ‘A’ featured schools from St. Mary's Strabane and St. Mary's Killyclogher . These schools battled bravely but two schools stood out in the section: St. Colmcille's Carrickmore and St. Patrick's Castlederg. After a tremendous battle in this group the Castlederg ladies topped the group with Carrickmore in second.

Section ‘B’ proved to be an equally tight affair with St. Mary's Dromore coming out on top with Holy Family Omagh qualifying in second. Commiserations to Gaelscoil Uí Dhochartaigh and St. Conor's Omagh.

The semi-finals and finals showcased all that is good about our games:bravery, skill and no shortage of drama. It took extra time to separate Castlederg and Holy Family with the Castlederg girls squeezing past in a game that took a heavy toll on the legs. Carrickmore had a good win over Dromore to set up a repeat of the first match in the group section. On that occasion Castlederg came out on top. Carrickmore, however, had different ideas this time and with Castlederg maybe feeling the effects of their tough semi-final, Carrickmore powered through for the victory.

Commiserations to Castlederg and congratulations to Carrickmore who will take their place in the County Final to be held in Cookstown’s Indoor MUSA. We congratulate all the teachers and these terrifically talented girls.

Our thanks to referee Brian McGinn for his expert officiating, and to Allianz Cumann na mBunscol officer Mr Pat McGivern for all his organisational skills.

Bring on the Final on 13 March!